March 30, 2011 by admin

The Count


Skylarkin beard

Having already worked with a host of legendary acts in the world of reggae (The Skatalites, Lee ‘Scratch’ Perry, Toots & The Maytals, Alton Ellis, Max Romeo and The Wailers (UK tour DJ) to name but a few) in a DJing career spanning three decades, in 2010 Count Skylarkin decided it was finally time find an outlet to showcase his many unheard crates of vintage black dance music from the 1920s to the early 1960s. A chance meeting with the management of East London’s best-kept secret The Book Club later and The BIG TEN INCH was born.

Like the clubnight, you can expect to hear a carefully-crafted mix of vintage black Americana and Caribbean delights – from Hot Swing to Jump Blues via Be-Bop, Gospel, Calypso, Cumbia, Ska, early Rock n Roll and Skiffle stompers – all played off original 45 and 78rpms – by a well-clad gentlemen who has delighted dancefloors all around the world.

“The antidote for a world that’s forgotten how to dance” The Guardian

 

Upcoming gigs

 

  • Fri 3 Mar: The Bullingdon, Oxford
  • Thu 9 Mar: Merchants Tavern, Shoreditch
  • Sat 11 Mar: The Bussey Building, Peckham
  • Fri 17 Mar: The Bullingdon, Oxford
  • Fri 24 Mar: Sweet Memory Sounds at The Attic, Bristol
  • Sat 25 Mar: Mirth, Marvel & Maud, Walthamstow
  • Tue 28 Mar: The Leadmill, Sheffield
  • Fri 31 Mar: Skylarkin’ Soundsystem at The Cellar, Oxford (w/Daddy G)
  • Thu 6 Apr: Merchants Tavern, Shoreditch
  • Fri 7 Apr: The Chambers, Folkestone
  • Sun 9 Apr: Derek’s Island Discs at Spiritland, Kings Cross
  • Thu 13 Apr: Oxford (tbc)
  • Fri 14 Apr: The Love Inn, Bristol
  • Sat 15 Apr: The Book Club, Shoreditch
  • Sun 16 Apr: Sweet Memory Sounds at The Bullingdon, Oxford
  • Thu 27 Apr: Purple Turtle, Reading
  • Sun 30 Apr: Oxford (tbc)
  • Thu 4 May: O2 Academy, Oxford (w/Morgan Heritage)
YouTube Preview Image

 

 

 

 

 

Share



Let's go back to the Top

Back to Top